Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are research databases that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into some of these databases.
- Academic Search Premier Full-text articles from over 1,000 journals, covering a range of topics, including business, social sciences, general science, and multiculturalism.
- BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
- Bill Silver Digital Newspaper Archive -this database searches the following newspapers:
- The Vanderhoof Herald: 1917-1920
- Nechako Chronicle: 1920-1983
- Omineca Express: 1982-1989 and 1991-2007
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts [EBSCO] – (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. analyses.
- Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
- Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
- Digital Magazines – Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 [EBSCO] European works that relate to the Americas. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
- Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
- Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
- Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
- Know BC – Encyclopedia of British Columbia: with more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips.
- Libby – Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books, ebooks, and emagazines 24/7 on your PC, laptop, phone, or tablet at home, in the office or anywhere in the world.
Libby is free; all you need is your library card number.
- Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
- Teacher Reference Center [EBSCO] provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
- Tests – A free resource to help drivers prepare for driver exams. This website has free practice tests.
- Teen Health & Wellness database – Real life – real answers.